## Wiltshire win Four Counties



Forty-eight golf captains, representing Berkshire, Devon, Somerset and Wiltshire, assembled at Bath Golf Club on 21<sup>st</sup> June to play for the Four Counties Trophy. Teams assembled at 11.00 am and feasted on coffee and bacon rolls before venturing onto the course with a first tee time of 12.00 noon. The weather was fine and sunny, shorts being the order of the day. The Bath course was in excellent condition, with slick greens and very punishing rough. Definitely a day to stay on the well manicured fairways. The views from the course were magnificent, a great day to be out on the golf course.

The competition for the trophy is for six pairs of players from each county, playing a better ball stableford. The best five cards are then aggregated to produce the team result. The competition was close, but Wiltshire came out on top, just two points ahead of the hosts, Somerset. Final scores were Wiltshire 195 points, Somerset 193 points, Berkshire 186 points, Dorset 182 points.

The prizes for the individual pairs were; Front nine, John Beer & Paul Hucker (Somerset) 23 points; Back nine, Ian Wood & Dick Solomon (Wiltshire) 21 points; Best eighteen, Jim Scott & Mike Smith (Somerset) 42 points.

Before presenting the prizes, Colin Tushingham spoke about the origins of the competition and the reason the trophy is a mounted tea caddy from 1907. He explained that Sid Hoare, who donated the trophy, worked for PG Tips, which is why it is always accompanied by a packet of loose-leaf tea.

Accepting the trophy on behalf of Wiltshire, the Captain, Andy Hatter thanked Somerset for their excellent organisation, Bath Golf Club for hosting the event and the caterers for serving a superb meal. He went on to say his only disappointment was that Andy Carter, the Somerset Captain could not be there to witness Wiltshire's success.

The triumphant Wiltshire players were Andy Hatter, Dick Solomon, Jim Murdoch, Paul McLaughlin, Ian Wood, Clive Waldron, Colin Hughes, Martin Lang, Roger Entwisle, Alistair Ross, David Clutson, Wally Bryson.

